Get a Hot Tub! 

For the past couple of years, I have been talking about my hot tub. Seriously!

I talk about it with family, friends, co-workers, and just recently someone next to me on an airplane.

A hot tub? Yes, a hot tub!

I don’t have a grandiose tub. I bought it after seeing a series of corner road signs that read “Hot Tub Extravaganza.” I shopped around for months before learning about the nozzles, airflow, pumps, and even “wet-tested” a few (hot tub folks are very big about “try before you buy” since it is kind of hard to return after delivery).  Finally, I felt confident enough to purchase.

My tub has LED lights and wireless, waterproof speakers, seats six, and goes up to 104 degrees Fahrenheit. I use it for at least 20 minutes five days a week.

If you’ve read this far, you must be scratching your head asking yourself where this is going on an education blog. Simple response: My hot tub helps me relax, and relaxation is paramount for educators.

We are at a point in the school year (in NJ) where the home stretch is upon us. The temperature rises, kids (and staff) are ready for a break, and we are in a mindset to knock off the checklist. Taking care of yourself – relaxation included – is essential. Some like wine; some run. I use my hot tub and swear by it. I tell everyone about it, and I’m even so brazen as to tell people to come over and use it. I feel as if I’m paying it forward when I convince family, friends, and even co-workers to try it.

Here’s to more relaxation on the horizon. Relaxation helps your wellness. Your wellness is needed to be at your prime in a school. Your wellness effects all those around you.  Your being healthy means your being happy, and that rubs off on kids.

Looking forward to my hot tub later. Ask me about it sometime!

One thought on “Get a Hot Tub! 

  1. Jay, I agree completely! We need to take care of ourselves so that we can be the best for our students and staff. While I don’t have a hot tub, I do enjoy walking at the beach and mindfulness coloring!

    Like

Leave a Reply

