Retirement Row

If you couldn’t tell, I am pretty passionate about my job and educating kids for today’s society.  I’ve made numerous controversial comments about how people should retire if they hate their teaching job because it affects kids.  Why is this such a thing for me?  A couple reasons.

Back when my grandfather was a police officer, he worked in the traffic bureau before he retired.  I asked him one day what he does, and he said he hangs out on “retirement row.” Clueless as to what that meant, I found out that the traffic bureau was the most coveted gig for those who awaited retirement – 9 to 5, five days a week, not on the road.  Sounded awful to me, but, for cops who didn’t work like everyone else, it was a dream.  I eventually got to see it once I became affiliated with UPD; retirement row was definitely retirement row.

About twelve years ago when I was teaching, I met a teacher who was absolutely miserable.  Words can’t even describe how miserable she was.  She wouldn’t talk to anyone; she just gave the number of years an days she had left.  She eventually got down to 30 days, and, holy cow, what a different person!  I could have told her the Apocalypse was here, and her smile wouldn’t have gone away.  She was the epitome of bliss.

Thankfully, I have not worked with anyone like that since then.  I have worked with educators who just keep going, not because they have to, not because they want to but because they don’t know what else to do.  Those folks end up almost paying to work. Think about that.  Paying to work!  It makes me ill.  You worked so hard your whole life, and now you’re paying to work?!  Awful.  It’s not fair to that person.  If you love your job, by all means, have at it.  But paying someone to work?!  Not cool.

One of our secretaries is retiring this week after a career of helping our learners and staff succeed.  She said it was time, and she’s excited to move on to the next chapter.  I could not be happier for her.  Her laugh and grin will be missed, but knowing that she’ll be playing with her grandchildren daily truly offsets the loss in my book.

What’s the point of this post?  In my opinion, in the education profession, you’ve worked so, so hard to ensure our students and staff succeed.  Kudos to you for making the best of it and moving on to your next chapter, whatever that is. Thanks for not being on “retirement row” or paying to work.  Six Saturday’s and a Sunday sound pretty damn good!

Enjoy the sunset. Onward!

Leave a Reply

