A response to “Why My Tech-Infused Presentation Stinks”

Recently, colleague Ross Cooper (RossCoops31) posted a piece on EduSurge that focused on why technology-infused tech sessions stink.  I’ll be the first to admit that one of my presentations which I do around the entire country is focused on tech in the classroom.  I call it “The Dirty 30,” and, not to brag, but it always has a packed house.  Like standing room only!  I remember that, at EdCampNJ two years ago, one of the organizers walked by my session, saw the overflow into the halls, and tried to look in.  

 It was also featured for the recent  NJASATechspo 2016 Conference in Atlantic City and even introduced by NJASA Technology Co-chair Dr. Scott Rocco.

Now, all that being said, it’s one of the reasons why I have been able to travel so much to different places in order to share with fellow superintendents, administrators, and teachers.  Ironically, it’s the one presentation I wish never to do again.  Why?  Because I am constantly shocked that fellow colleagues in my capacity and other administrators do not know about all of these.  How can you not?!?

I’m in a tough spot.  Of course, I’ll keep on doing and updating the presentation, but I’m always saddened to see  the reaction to some of the “oldies but goldies” apps that have been around for years.  In some instances, when I talk about Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram, you would think I’m introducing a new line of computer programming.

I read Ross’s post twice and then sat down and looked at my presentation.  From now on, I plan on injecting the following as a part of my dialogue:

  • How to apply it in the school setting
  • The CCCS standards it could apply to
  • Assessment potentials
  • Any research tied to the style of learning that the app/extension provides

It is my hope that the next time I present, it’s not seen as some flash in the pan. And…I will warn people that I will be piling on the pedagogy in the process.

 

 

Leave a Reply

