DWI: Driving While Intexticated


Last Monday, I got into a car accident.  It wasn’t my fault.  Seriously!  It wasn’t.  A 19 year old was texting, using her GPS, and eating a bagel instead of watching the road. I put my car through an interstate sign, destroying my hood and windshield.  Thankfully, all are OK, but the next day, it had me thinking.  A lot.


As educators, what are we doing lately to address drivers education in schools?

I know I’m not the first person to be involved in an accident because someone was texting and driving.  My new district is a K-6 district, so I don’t have to worry about drivers ed, but I want to see what others are doing.

Some districts have drivers ed stuff up, some don’t.  Here’s some great resources I found that I think should be included with today’s driver educaion classes:

I’m hoping that your districts have some type of meaningful curriculum and lessons on the dangers of this. I really don’t want to go through another sign again.

images

Leave a Reply

