Crashing the Party and Mixing it up

C’mon now… when is the last time you crashed a party?  High School?  College? Yesterday?

I crashed one last week.  There was an end-of-the-year party at the local watering hole and I had to go.  They were honoring a retiree and the last day of school, and everyone deserves some merrymaking on the last day of school.

I couldn’t help but to notice the makeup of the room and the lack of diversity.  Not to be mean / offensive, but it seemed (with the exception of two or three people) it was very planned as to who was and who was not there.  I’m sure everyone was invited, but just by looking, you couldn’t help to notice who was and wasn’t there.

And yes, I saw the faces when I walked in.  They were not pleased.  And I didn’t care.  At all.  There needs to be a mixup at gatherings like this. And in schools.

I’m there to celebrate the occasion and those who served, not revel in gossip and banter. The average Joe, who’s not one of the Jets, Sharks, or Pink Ladies, should not be shunned or feel on ‘the outs’ for not being on.

The cliques did their thing, and I did mine. One thing I couldn’t help to notice, I was being filmed by a staff member.  how pathetic is that? The epitome of a bully and petty.  And some wonder why where they are today.

Anyway, one of the biggest reasons I attended was to diversify.  Each year, I send out a questionnaire to staff asking “what would you change for the next year”, and this year, multiple answers were given for the need to diversify. To quote one response:  “We need to hire people that are different than us.  We need different ages, the opposite sex, and we need those who are not cloaked in ‘the good ol’ days’. Hire those who want to teach, not those who just sit at lunch and complain all day.”

Well, I hopefully took your advice, and I encourage all leaders to do the same.

Look at your current make-up in your schools.  What do you have?  What are you lacking? What do you need, and what do you want?

A good, hard look should take place each and every Spring when it comes time to prepare for the following school year.  Variety is the spice of life.  Mix things up… not for you, but for your students. If you don’t do it for them, you’re continuing the tradition of the same old thing.  Is that the world we live in now… the same old thing?

Don’t be that administrator who looks the other way.  Make changes, make them often, and do it for your students, because they deserve it.

Onward.

Leave a Reply

