The Beatdown & The Phoenix

On July 1, I officially finished my first year as a Superintendent. 

It was awesome.  It was amazing.  It was the beat-down of a lifetime.

To say that I got my butt kicked this year is putting it lightly. While I heavily relied on my teaching, Assistant Principal, and K-12 Supervisor experiences (and of course all of that schooling stuff), it was still a dim lit path with no answers being in stone.  

Now that we are in summer, I’ve taken some time to reflect on my year.  Here’s what I thought: I was doing great until state testing arrived.  After state testing, I made my mistake.  A big one.  I pushed. Hard.  Really hard.

Why is this a mistake? In my case, I pushed my teachers so hard this past year, and they went with it.  Most realized they were way behind the curve and saw a need for change.  They adapted, they worked so hard, and they tried.  After state testing, many were tired.  I saw it as an additional 24 days of school and saw some starting to slide and shut off.  Instead of targeting individuals, I went mass emails and tried to rally the troops and lead the charge.  It completely backfired, and I ended up having a semi-mutiny on my hands.  Even worse, those that were doing a modicum of work and were so lost to begin with began to stir the pot even more… and they went for the jugular.  If I wore the wrong shoes, I heard about it.  If I blinked the wrong way, I heard about it.  Granted, the completely useless just focus all of their energy on finding fault and deflecting people about looking at them, but I gave them free ammo.  Not cool.

So, the year ended, and I took two weeks off. BEST. IDEA. EVER.   I played video games. I watched awful TV. I got back to the gym.  I went for check-ups that I put off forever.  I played golf. I played with my puppy.  I lived like a normal human being.  It was needed.

Coming back refreshed, I had the time to digest and process all of the decision making, pitfalls, and pros that I went through.

The summer vibe in a school setting is a wonderful one.  It’s nice to reflect, recharge, and reorganize your thoughts for the following school year.  It’s a time for the educational phoenix to rise again and prepare for whatever come sour way.  I have grown, I have learned, and now it’s time to move onward. 

Leave a Reply

