5 ways I’m using Google Glass in my schools to enhance education

Image

OK, glass.  Change my school for the better.

In January, I got one of the best emails I ever received.  I got an email from Google Glass asking if I was interested to pilot their new project.  I was beyond excited.  My mind was running in every direction possible (and for those that know me personally, you know my mind runs all over as is); this email had me running like after a triple espresso.

I had to purchase the glasses frames as well, as my sight, well, is awful. After successful setting of frames, I was off and running.  Well, I think it took me  a few hours just to turn them on. Then comes your toggling, eye movement, using your fingers, and training your eye to look..

Naturally I read some articles of etiquette. There was nothing in Marie Post’s book, but CNN had a great article on how not to be a “Glasshole”.

Anyway, from my use thus far, here’s what I’ve been able to successfully do with my Glass in schools, that have help me be a better chief lead learner:

1. Recording teacher observations. In another school, when I got an iPad for the first time, a groups of teachers called it the “Spy Pad” when I was doing “Drive-by” observations. So, when I told my staff we got a pair, and what I was looking to do, the grumbles and moans carried through the school. At first, I was just wearing them and letting everyone try them on.  I also insisted that this was not the “Gotcha” camera.  This took great trust and a good leap of faith, but we did it. While in observations, I have recorded samples of students working, teachers teaching, and even some disciplinary issues.  The results?  Awesome.  I have played the video clips back to the Staff; they are fans.  The videos stay on my personal drive, and are not shared with the masses; not even the teacher.

2. Sending live updates of school happenings to social media to show all of the positives that are happening at the school. We all know the power of social media and how getting quick, simplistic information is beneficial to all.  With glass, I can take pictures and share them on our school twitter feed (@LACSchool), our Facebook page, and even attach images or videos to emails.  I have spent lots of time promoting and guiding our stakeholders to our website / social media avenues.  It’s been very successful, and this just adds more fuel to this educational fire.

3. Observe special education students at their best and worst, and providing footage to both Parents and the Child Study Teams. Sometimes certain students have certain needs that we can’t immediately identify or even explain properly.  Having the ability to record a student with Autism when they have a “melt-down”, and immediately sending that to the screen of the Child Study Team is paramount for our success.  It allows us to immediately assess, document, and begin to figure out to combat the situation.  It also has allowed me to show parents who are in denial. It has opened eyes, and in turn, allowed parents to make better decisions.

4. Get Email on the fly.  As A Superintendent, my email in-box is insane. Instead of being dangerous and reading email on my phone, I can see when email comes in on my screen and have google glass read it orally to me. I can then dictate a message back, save it, or delete it. It’s not used all of the time, but if I have a drive, I can weed out quite a bit.

5. Report concerns immediately to maintenance. I often walk the halls, and I’ll see something that needs cleaning, is in disrepair, or looks fantastic. I can take a picture and email it to grounds supervisor right on the spot.  No more trying to recall what hall, where, and when.

As Glass rolls out more apps, and as I (and the staff) get more comfortable with their use, I can see this being a permanent fixture in a school.

Glass is is helping us grow, learn, and move onward.

2 thoughts on “5 ways I’m using Google Glass in my schools to enhance education

  1. Jay, Thanks for your post, I have been sitting on my invite for about a month… this post got me to order my Google Glass and look forward to using them in my district. Please Keep Sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

