Why un-conferences are amazing: ‘a tale of a 4th grade nothing’

Image

If you were in 4th grade over the last 20 or so years, you probably read Tales of the 4th Grade Nothing by Judy Blume.  If you were in New Jersey, you studied the state and made all kinds of fun projects.  You learned about math, language, science, and other things too.  Did you ever think you’d be able to thank your 4th grade teacher almost 20 years later? I sure didn’t, and once again, I was proven wrong.

This past Saturday, I had the privilege of presenting at WeTech14 – a conference held in the West Essex Regional School District.  During my second session, I went around the room and wanted to hear about what everybody does and where everybody works.  A woman in the front said she taught in the same District I went to.  We continued to talk, she taught in the same elementary school.  I started to name all of my teachers I had and when I got to 4th grade, I was interrupted. The interruption?  “I had Miss Angelino in 4th grade…” “I’m Miss Angelino!”

Image

  I was in shock.  A dead freeze.  I’ve never been thrown off in my presentations. It was one of the coolest things to happen to me yet at an ed-camp.  My 4th grade teacher, sitting in my presentation, learning something from me.  I just couldn’t wrap my head around it. We ended up having a great conversation about curriculum, technology, teaching, and life. The attendees in the workshop were just as shocked as I was. You never know what can happen at an un-conference. EVER!

We ended up catching up more at lunch, and even attended a session on Twitter together afterwards.  And I have a new follower now on Twitter. My 4th grade teacher. WiId.

The Un-Conference: A time to connect,  A time to learn, A time to re-connect!

 

One thought on “Why un-conferences are amazing: ‘a tale of a 4th grade nothing’

Leave a Reply

