5 Educational Leaders I’m Thankful to Know & Follow on Twitter

As we gather around tables all across the US this to celebrate Thanksgiving, we are certainly reminded that there is much to be thankful for. While I personally am thankful for so much that has happened to me personally this year, I’m thankful for meeting / re-connecting with a whole new group of leaders within education. If you are an educator, but not on Twitter, I don’t know what you’re waiting for already. Sign up over the holiday break, go to this ‘cheat sheet’, and start poking around. Oh, and follow these 5 educational leaders:

  • Eric Sheninger (@NMHS_Principal ) – simply put, the man is a rock star on Twitter. With over 30,000 followers, Eric is a lightning bolt of information for technology, school administrators, and educators all over the world. The coolest part about it? He’s incredibly personable (most are on Twitter) and will respond to you with just about anything you ask. I met Eric at the 2012 NASSP Conference in Tampa this year after seeing him on the TV show “The Principal’s Office”. I saw the show while I was completing my educational administrative program, and was rather impressed with his style. Meeting him in person was awesome, and I’m thankful for his wealth of resources.
  • Scott Rocco (@ScottRRocco ) Before being known as the Co-Founder of the Saturday AM Twitter group known as #SATCHAT, Scott has arisen through the teaching & administrative ranks in Hillsborough, NJ. Scott was also one of my instructors in my administrative program. I’ve had the chance to re-connect with Scott over the past six months through Twitter and, like so many others on here, offers a plethora of information and insight. If you’re looking for information on safety, security, or operations, he is your go-to guy.
  • Brad Currie (@bcurrie5 ) – A co-founder & co-moderator of #SATCHAT with Scott Rocco, Brad is currently a Supervisor of Instruction in Chester, NJ. I finally met Brad face to face at the NJPSA Fall Conference, and was glad I did; he too has an arsenal of resources for teachers, administrators, and parents that are looking to utilize technology as both classroom tools and communication output. Have a question about how to use technology in your classroom or use 21st century technology for communication? Tweet & follow Brad.
  • Dr. Spike C. Cook (@drspikecook ) A Principal hailing from southern NJ, Dr. Cook has a great background, and uses all that he has learned in education and technology and applies it to his everyday life. His blog offers great insight on everything from how a school can give back to the community to funky videos he created using Apple software (now addicted, I’m trying to make my own) – the sky is the limit with Dr. Cook.
  • Nicholas A. Ferroni (@NicholasFerroni ) – Nick and I first met in 6th grade. All new to the school (all 6th graders use to go to one school together before breaking off into two middle schools), the class of 1997 merged for the first time in 1990. 6th grade, is well, 6th grade; everyone is trying to find themselves and see who they really are, what they really like etc. Nick was a leader; wearing such hot commodities as Z. Cavaricci pants & shirts and Ewing shoes (yea, I went there), Nick was determined to stand out and lead by example. While we went in different paths in high school, we eventually both ended up teaching history. Nick continues to be a leader in his own right; over 10,000 followers on Twitter and a national blog on The Huffington Post. I hope that one day Nick and I will reunite in some type of educational capacity (though I still think he hasn’t forgiven me for transcending to “the dark side” {school administration} like many other teachers) If you’re looking for some inspiration, some real-life classroom instances, or to smile, follow Nick.

If you haven’t picked up on the pattern, these fine folks above are all from the great state of New Jersey. Why did I choose all NJ leaders? Simple: I’m a Jersey boy, too.

I hope everyone in the US has a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday!

Leave a Reply

